bare knuckled fistfighting.

Join the discussion group on topics related to Martial Arts, Boxing, Wrestling and MMA. Share your experience or pose questions to our Moderators.

Moderators: peter yates, David Gentle

bare knuckled fistfighting.

Postby Henk1966 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:14 pm

I,ve been involved in martial arts for a long time now and boxing is a sport you gotta love.I remember the good old days with Muhammed Ali but before him there were obviously very fine boxers as well,Jack Dempsey being one of them.At home I have my own mancave with training gear and ofcourse I have a boxingroutine every other day.I start with 1000 to 3000 hits left and right,either in the air,on a paper target or a bag.For me shortest of distance is of the utmost importance,I work as a bouncer and indoors there is not a lot of space left when the place is full and alas sometimes its neccesary to use my hands either to protect or make a statement.
A while ago I read one oldtime strongman book written by George F Jowett.Now he mentioned that there were boxers who used bryne to toughen their hands,cause in those days there were still bare knuckled boxingmatches instead of gloves like nowadays.I also read about gypsies using gasoline to toughen and harden their hands.Now the chinese use Dit Da Jow to toughen their skin and curing any bruises.
Comments anyone?
Henk1966

Re: bare knuckled fistfighting.

Postby peter yates » Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:43 pm

Hi Henk,