John J Bonica aka Johnny Bull Walker

Post questions concerning the History of Physical Culture and we will try our best to answer them for you.

Moderators: DannyBoy, Harry Hayfield, David Gentle

latif

John J Bonica aka Johnny Bull Walker

Post by latif » Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:05 am

Hello all

I'm a journalist and historian doing research on the doctor John J Bonica (1917-1994), who also wrestled professionally under the names Joe Bueka, Johnny Bull Walker, and the Masked Marvel. I'm looking for any and all information and/or original sources about Bonica's wrestling career (lasted from approximately 1936 to about the early 50s).

Here's what I already know:
Over the course of his time as a wrestler, Bonica wrestled many of the greats including Angelo Savoldi, Jim Londos, the Duseks, Ed The Strangler Lewis, and Lou Thesz. He also worked as a carnival strongman for a few seasons with the AT show circuit. In 1939, he won the light heavyweight championship of Canada, and on June 22, 1941, he won the NWA Light Heavyweight Championship of the World belt from Jesse James in Binghamton, NY.

Here's what I'm on the lookout for:
- Any original sources (photos, articles, posters, etc) that relate to Bonica
- Any information about his career in general or any of his matches or training style in particular
- Any recommendations of a person or book or article who could help give me A broader portrait of what pro wrestling was like at that time (in particular what the physical demands on a wrestler of that era would have been)

Thanks so much for your help all!

sticksb

Re: John J Bonica aka Johnny Bull Walker

Post by sticksb » Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:33 pm

IMG_0006.jpg
IMG_0006.jpg (76.51 KiB) Viewed 4957 times
From Google images . Good contrast photo .

David Gentle

Post by David Gentle » Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:06 pm